Oblivion – poem

Copyright 2008 David Ohmer, Flickr, CC-BY, via Wylio

Copyright 2008 David Ohmer, Flickr, CC-BY, via Wylio

I wrote this poem when I was attending a creative writing course in 2013.  It was at this time that I learnt about different types of poems and editing.  It was my first (and only!) attempt at a Villanelle style of poem.  Most of my poems have been written spontaneously and rarely edited.  I’d love to know what you think.

.

OBLIVION

.

Across the trapway looming dwellings queue

I struggle with thoughts of others’ feeling

Shimmering isle inspired by blue depth hue

.

Eery emptiness fakes tempting trespass

I’m drawn to chance the shake of such stepping

Across the trapway looming dwellings queue

.

Furtive steps melt along the curving path

I feel the heat of the orange glowing

Shimmering isle inspired by blue depth hue

.

Hidden echoes of the privileged few

I hear aching voices softly calling

Across the tramway looming dwellings queue

.

Tippling boats and boys seared by rich sun rays

I bless them from the heart for such dreaming

Shimmering isle inspired by blue depth hue

.

Shedding golden light on secret ways

I feel lured in by those that went sailing

Across the tramway looming dwellings queue

Shimmering isle inspired by blue depth hue

Leave a Reply

